Getting Your Read On - PAGE TURNER: The Asian American Literary Festival And The Asian American Writers’ Workshop

Monday, November 09, 2009

Got word from Ken Chen down at the Asian American Writers' Workshop about their festival PAGE TURNER: The Asian American Literary Festival and wanted to make sure to post up the information as it's going to have some great folks involved. So if you're looking for something to do this Friday and Saturday definitely check it out on out.

The Asian American Writers’ Workshop presents
PAGE TURNER: The Asian American Literary Festival
Friday & Saturday, Nov. 13-14, 2009

Join the Workshop for PAGE TURNER, a two-day literary palooza that’ll bring together more than thirty writers, including Jhumpa Lahiri, Michael Ondaatje, David Henry Hwang, Hari Kunzru, Ed Park, and Porochista Khakpour. This quirky but curated festival will also feature a former Chinese rocket factory worker, poets making video art, ukulele-strumming comedian Jen Kwok, Indian crime fiction, panels on internment and immigration, and a cocktail reception and awards ceremony. For schedule and tickets, please visit


Friday, Nov. 13, 2009, 7-10pm
At Vermilion, 480 Lexington Avenue, NY, NY

$50 cocktail reception (7-8pm); $500 gala dinner (8-10pm)
A special cocktail reception and dinner honoring Sonny Mehta, who will receive a Lifetime Achievement Award from Michael “English Patient” Ondaatje. For tickets, visit or call (212) 494-0061.

Saturday, Nov. 14, 2009, 11am-7pm
PAGE TURNER: The Asian American Literary Festival
powerhouse Arena, 37 Main Street, Brooklyn, NY

$5 per reading;
$20 Day Pass;
$10 Literary Awards & Reception Only;
$25 All-Day Pass+Awards

A hip all-day reading series that’ll feature more than some of the most prominent Asian American writers in the country, as well as stand-up comedians, academics, and the Twelfth Annual Asian American Literary Awards. The line-up includes: Jhumpa Lahiri, David Henry Hwang, Ed Park, Mort Baharloo, Monique Truong, Hari Kunzru, Meera Nair, Mohan Sikka, Hirsh Sawhney, Mae Ngai, Mitra Kalita, Alexander Chee, Ron Hogan, Rakesh Satyal, Jen Kwok, Porochista Khakpour, Ed Lin, Jennifer Hayashida, Jeff Yang, Sree Sreenivasan, Ravi Shankar, Hua Hsu, Dennis Lim, Julie Otsuka, Rea Tajiri, Sunaina Maria, Tania James, Hasanthika Sirisena, V.V. Ganeshananthan, Amitava Kumar, Lijia Zhang, Alexandra Chang, Walter Lew, and Ye Mimi.
For a complete schedule and tickets see