Slanty People + Nobel Prize For Literature

Monday, October 19, 2009

I was reading an article in Newsweek from a couple of weeks ago about how the Nobel Prize in Literature doesn't really mean much in the long term and also carries with it a curse (unless you were Faulker apparently) - and while I don't really agree or disagree - I did wonder who were the winners of the Nobel Prize in Literature who had the Slant since it's been given out in 1901 (102 times).

Here's the list starting in decending order (all info taken from the Nobel Prize site). I don't think I missed anyone, but if I did, feel free to add it in below.

  • 2001: Sir Vidiadhar Surajprasad Naipaul

    "for having united perceptive narrative and incorruptible scrutiny in works that compel us to see the presence of suppressed histories"

  • 2000: Gao Xingjian

    "for an Ĺ“uvre of universal validity, bitter insights and linguistic ingenuity, which has opened new paths for the Chinese novel and drama"

  • 1994: Kenzaburo Oe

    "who with poetic force creates an imagined world, where life and myth condense to form a disconcerting picture of the human predicament today"

  • 1998: Naguib Mahfouz

    "who, through works rich in nuance - now clear-sightedly realistic, now evocatively ambiguous - has formed an Arabian narrative art that applies to all mankind"

  • 1968: Yasunari Kawabata

    "for his narrative mastery, which with great sensibility expresses the essence of the Japanese mind"

  • 1913: Rabindranath Tagore

    "because of his profoundly sensitive, fresh and beautiful verse, by which, with consummate skill, he has made his poetic thought, expressed in his own English words, a part of the literature of the West"